Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I finished my master’s degree last year, and when I graduated, people often asked how I did it, considering that I finished my degree while working full time. Looking back, I don’t think I ever considered how. I knew what I wanted, and I was determined to get it.

My cousin Irene Whitehurst Johnson, who graduated from Troy University after taking classes off and on for 50 years.

My cousin Irene Whitehurst Johnson, who graduated from Troy University after taking classes off and on for 50 years. Photo credit: The Dothan Eagle

I’m not the only one with that mindset. Actually, I believe it’s a family trait. My cousin Irene’s dogged determination recently made headlines in Alabama:

“After 50 years of trying, 75-year-old woman graduates from university.”

And Irene says she’s not done yet– she has her eyes set on a master’s degree. Somehow, that’s not surprising.

 

