Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is Dec. 30, 2015 and I have a little more than 24 hours to literally get my house in order before the dawn of the New Year. The thinking is that the condition your home is in on New Year’s Day sets the tone for the entire year. I have swept my floors and purged my closets.  Then I filled the tub up halfway and wiped down my baseboardts. Baseboardts.

According to Southern tradition, there are three things I must eat, and one action I absolutely under no circumstances must not take to make the New Year a happy one:

  1. Eat collard greens. This leafy green represents wealth. I might eat my way financial freedom on Friday.
  2. Eat fish. I forget the symbolism of this, but I think it has something to do with the scales on the fish. Either way, I’m getting creative with this and will treat myself to handful of goldfish crackers. Ringing in the New Year covered in hives is not a good look.
  3. Eat black-eyed peas. This is for general good luck. And fiber.

And the forbidden task:

  1. donotwashDoing laundry. You may wash someone out of your life. You’ve been warned.

Do any of these traditions sound familiar? How do you ring in the New Year?

