Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m only writing this post because my ear started to burn. And it’s important to note that it was my right ear burning– which according to the body of beliefs I’ve grown up with– meant something good was being spoken about me.

Had my left ear been burning, I still would’ve posted, but I would have been sure to suggest that someone was speaking ill of me.

I wouldn’t describe myself as superstitious, per se, but there are some beliefs that I give credence to. Here are a few that I grew up with that have remained with me into adulthood:

Itching palms: Signals loss or gain of money. Right palm means you’ll receive money; left palm means you’ll lose some.

Putting a hat on a bed; General bad luck. I’m not sure what exactly is supposed to happen, but I’m not interested in finding out.

Placing a purse on the floor: do this and you won’t have any money.

Dropping utensils on the floor; If you drop a spoon, that means a female visitor is coming. If you drop a knife, a male visitor is on the way.

Dreaming of fish: someone’s pregnant.

I don’t know that this next one qualifies as supersitition as much as a clever way to describe natural phenomena. Either way, here’s a saying that I’ve always found to be true:

Red sky at night, sailor’s delight; red sky at morning, sailor’s warning. This is fairly self-explanatory. A pink or reddened sky at night (or evening) is a harbinger of fair weather. But to see those colors in the morning foretells of a storm.

Did I miss any? What superstitions did you grow up with?

