Tags

, , , , ,

I was reviewing the research I had done on the Pinkard side of my family when I noticed someone I hadn’t previously: John Hamilton. His relationship to the head of household is listed as brother.

Huh?

In 1900, John Hamilton was a 22-year-old widower living with Ike and Narsis Pinkard and their three children. Interestingly enough, there was a Henry Hamilton living next door.

I suspect what I happened upon was one of slavery’s ugliest scars. The American slave trade left families fractured and disfigured. I searched for both men in the 1880 U.S. Census and the 1910 U.S. Census and came up with nothing. But a search of Georgia tax lists shows a Henry Hamilton, a freedman who was born in Virginia and came to Georgia in 1850 when he was around 9 years old.

Stay tuned!

