Tags

,

I’m approximately 72 hours away from presenting at the 2012 National Rosenwald Conference in Tuskegee, Ala. My presentation is on the Coffee County Training School, in which my relatives had a hand in creating. I’ve spent the past few days organizing photos, writing text and confirming details. I’ve collected a lot more than I plan to use, so I figured I share some of what I’ve found here:

The Coffee County Football Team, 1948. My uncle James A. Nance (my grandfather’s youngest brother) is the one to the left of the football)

This undated photo is of female students playing sports. The building in the background is the rebuilt school, constructed on land my great-grandfather donated after the original school burned down in 1938

Another undated photo and I’m not sure who’s pictured– although I wouldn’t be surprised if at least one of these girls is a relative of mine.

