Tags

, ,

In researching the maternal side of my family, I stumbled across another branch of Pinkards that lived in Randolph County, Ala. What struck me is that this branch had several men named Ike Pinkard. In fact, I came across records of at least five different Ike or Isaac Pinkards living in Georgia or Alabama:

There’s my great-great-grandfather, Ike Pinkard born in Georgia in May 1848.

My grandpa Willie had an older brother named Isaac Pinkard, who was born in 1911 and died in 1951 in Birmingham, Ala.

There’s an Ike Pinkard who shot and killed a man in 1905

An Ike Pinkard who was living in Montgomery, Ala. in 1870 with his parents, Dick and Celia, and his two younger brothers, Charley and Daniel

There’s Ike Pinkard Jr., who was living in Heard County, Ga. in 1880.

An Isaac Pinkard who was born in 1813, married a lady named Adline and had about a dozen kids. (One of those children was also named Isaac. He later moved to Chattanooga, Tenn.) This Isaac Pinkard lived in Randolph County, Ala., and is buried in a cemetery in the Shake Rag community near Wedowee.

What’s interesting to me is that all of these men with the same names lived relatively close to each other, not far from the Chattahoochee River.

 

