Tags

The Latin phrase above means “to teach and to inquire into the nature of things.” It is the motto of the University of Georgia and quite fitting for my genealogical journey.

In an earlier post, I wrote that I believed Moses W. Dobbins may have owned my great-great-grandfather, Alfred Dobbins. (Alfred and Rachel Dobbins were the parents of Laura Dobbins. Laura Dobbins married Crawford Bryant and they were the parents of Rachel Bryant, whose daughter was Lula Bryant. Lula Bryant Pinkard is my maternal grandmother).

I believe that a branch of the Dobbins family for which the air force base (and air reserve base) is named once owned ancestors on the maternal side of my family

I found out that this Moses W. Dobbins is actually Moses W. Dobbins Jr. and that his father was an early rector at the University of Georgia. Junior’s great-uncle (and namesake) Moses Waddel, was a former president of the university.This is the same family for whom Dobbins Air Force Base in Marietta, Ga., is named. This family tree explains the connection).

Earlier today I emailed a Dobbins researcher for more information about Moses W. Dobbins Jr. The response I got was interesting and filled in the blanks about why that family left Stewart County, Ga: they were left “impoverished” by the Civil War. Moses Dobbins’ brother-in-law bought the family a 150-acre farm in Fulton County, Ga., where they moved sometime in 1880.

From what I’ve found out, this family seems to have been fairly prominent. The Dobbins name is splayed all over the Atlanta area.  The names of their slaves, however, remain elusive.
