Following my Tindall line has led me from Dale County, Ala., to South Carolina.

QUICK RECAP: My dad’s paternal grandmother was Mamie Gilley Nance. She was the only daughter of Frank and Flora (Brown) Gilley. Frank Gilley was most likely an ex-slave who changed his name from Frank Tindall to Frank Gilley. His parents were Seaborn and Hannah Tindall, who were both born in South Carolina in the 1820s. In 1866 the Tindalls were living in Dale County, Ala., presumably as freedmen.

I checked out the 1860 and 1850 U.S. Federal Census slave schedules for any slaveholding Tindalls in Dale County. I found quite a few. But there was only one who was from South Carolina. His name was James Tindall. He was born around 1796, and according to U.S. Census data, had been living in Alabama since at least 1850. He remained in Dale County until Reconstruction, when he and his wife moved to Geneva County, Ala., and were living with Sarah and Henry Drew (presumably a daughter and son-in-law?)

My theory is that Seaborn and Hannah were brought from South Carolina to Alabama with their master or masters. The 1870 U.S. Census  notes that they were born in South Carolina. I did a little more digging and discovered that the South Carolina Tindalls were a large slaveholding family. So far, I haven’t been able to connect James Tindall with any other family members except for his wife, Cassander.

I stumbled across the South Carolina Department of Archives and History Web site a few weeks ago. Lucky for me– and other researchers– thousands of images have been uploaded, including wills. To my delight, the index is chock full of Tindalls. I hope I can find the Tindalls I’m looking for!

