So far, this blog has been about my dad’s side of the family, which is mostly in Alabama. Today I’ll explore my mom’s side of the family, which is mostly in southwest Georgia.

My mom doesn’t talk much about her side of the family and my maternal grandparents died when I was very young. Trying to piece together this side has been difficult, but interesting, nonetheless. Here’s what I knew: my maternal grandparents are Willie and Lula Pinkard (nee Bryant). They were both from Stewart County, Ga. My grandfather’s parents were Dorsey and Atlena Pinkard. My grandma Lula’s mother was Rachel Bryant, but Grandma Lula was raised by Will and Marie Bryant, who I later discovered were her aunt and uncle.

Using that information, I took to ancestry.com, where I discovered that the both the Pinkards and the Bryants had been living in Stewart County for quite some time. I was able to identify Dorsey Pinkard’s parents as Ike and Narcis Pinkard, a sometimes black, sometimes mulatto couple who lived in Chattahoochee County, Ga., just north of Stewart County.Pinkard family, 1910, Chattahoochee County, Ga.

