Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Just when I thought I had hit a dead end on my Pinkard research, I happened upon a new vital record– the death certificate for my great-great-grandmother, Narcis Pinkard– and one more generation to add to the family tree.

You may recall that I found her name listed among those buried at Porterdale Cemetery in Columbus, Ga. Those records listed her death as 1934. The official death record confirms this, and also lists her father as Henry Hamilton.

Hamilton. I’m connecting all sorts of dots with this discovery.

Last year, I came across a Hamilton in a Census. His name was John, and in 1900 he lived with Ike and Narcis Pinkard, my great-great-grandparents. I now realize that the Henry Hamilton living next door to the Pinkards was more than likely John and Narcis’ father.